Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize

Dr. Anthony Lang, 2022 Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize Recipient

Deadline: February 14, 2023 – 11:59 PM PST

The Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize was created by an estate gift made to the University of British Columbia by Leonard Herbert Margolese.

Purpose of the Prizes

The Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize will be awarded annually to a Canadian physician or scientist who makes outstanding contributions to the treatment, amelioration, or cure of brain disorders. The prize is awarded with the expectation that the recipient will continue to make outstanding contributions in the future, since this is not a lifetime achievement award. Among the criteria that will be considered is impact on policy and practice, forging partnerships with scientists and others to foster brain disorders research and/or to implement discoveries, and cultivating future leaders in the field.

Monetary Award for each Prize

One prize of $50,000 payable in Canadian dollars will be awarded annually. The value of the prize will be reevaluated every third year.


Meredith Ladner
Executive Coordinator
Faculty of Medicine, Office of Research

Eligibility Requirements

To be considered for a prize, nominees must be Canadian citizens holding an academic appointment in good standing and be active and productive in their career. Nominees must be nominated by an expert in their field and self-nominations will not be accepted. The nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the treatment, amelioration, or cure of brain disorders. The Selection Review Committee reserves the right to rule on the eligibility of nominees. The University may decline to award a prize in any given year if the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine is of the opinion that awarding a prize is impractical or undesirable.

ELIGIBILITY NOTE FOR 2023 COMPETITION: For this year’s competition, the Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize will be awarded to a person employed by the University of British Columbia. Any nominations received from other institutions will not be adjudicated in this competition round and will be considered again in 2024.

Nomination Package

Nominations require:

  1. A letter of nomination stating the nominee’s contributions to the treatment, amelioration or cure of brain disorders, the nominee’s cultivation of future leaders, and the nominee’s impact on their field of work, including a list of the nominee’s five most significant publications and the reasons why the nominee should receive the award (three pages maximum); NEW include a statement of impact in the Nomination Letter
  2. The nominee’s institutional CV, including a complete list of publications;
  3. Two letters of support from experts in the nominee’s field of work. At least one letter must be from an expert outside Canada and at least one letter must be from outside the nominee’s home institute (Please Note: Letter from outside Canada can be the same as the one from outside home institute); and
  4. Confirmation of the nominee’s Canadian citizenship.

Please address all letters to:
Dr. W. Robert McMaster, Vice Dean, Research
317-2194 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver BC, V6T 1Z3

The nominations of eligible candidates may be considered for up to three years. Please refer to the Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize Guidelines for more information and complete nomination instructions.


Please see the Online Submission Portal for all submissions. This includes all re-submission nominations.

> Online Submission Portal <

Past Winners

Year Recipient
2022 Dr. Anthony Lang, University of Toronto
2021 Dr. Sandra Black, University of Toronto
2020 Dr. Molly Schoichet , University of Toronto &
Dr. Peter St George-Hyslop, University of Toronto
2019 Dr. Gustavo Turecki, McGill University
2018 Dr. Kullervo Hynynen, University of Toronto
2017 Dr. Ian Mackenzie, The University of British Columbia
2016 Dr. Michael Meaney, McGill University
2015 Dr. James Rutka, University of Toronto
2014 Dr. Alan Evans, McGill University
2013 Dr. Andres Lozano, University of Toronto
2012 Dr. Guy Rouleau, University of Montreal
2011 Dr. Michael Hayden, The University of British Columbia