Canadian Association of Radiologists honours Faculty of Medicine members

Two Faculty of Medicine members were recently presented with honours from the Canadian Association of Radiologists.

Gold Medal Award winner Bruce Forster

Bruce Forster, head of the radiology department in the Faculty of Medicine, was honoured with the Canadian Association of Radiologists (CAR) Gold Medal Award.

The medal is the society’s highest honour and is presented to a long-time member of the CAR who has made outstanding contributions to the association as well as to the profession of radiology in Canada.

Young Investigator Award winner  Faisal Khosa

“We cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award than Bruce whose contributions to the practice of radiology in B.C., nationally and internationally have been truly remarkable,” said Jonathon Leipsic, Tim O’Connell, Savvas Nicolaou, and Gerald Legiehn, vice-chairs of the radiology department. “Beyond those many contributions Bruce is particularly deserving of this award as he exudes both constant class and collegiality, always seeking to build community and partnership. A true role model for all of us.”

Forster is only the second radiologist from B.C. to be given this honour since it was first awarded in 1995.

Faisal Khosa, an associate professor in radiology, was honoured with the Young Investigator Award.

This award is presented to a CAR member in the early stages of their career and recognizes exceptional contributions to medical imaging-related research.

Khosa’s interests include the study of leadership and disparities in academia.

The awards were presented at a national radiology meeting.