Tyler Wood


Clinical Instructor


Physical Therapy


Central Interior Native Health Society (CINHS), Prince George, BC

Tell us about your role as a clinical faculty member at UBC?

I am a clinical instructor at Central Interior Native Health Society to primarily serve the local Indigenous population and other marginalized populations. In terms of teaching, I serve as a mentor for Physical Therapy students during their clinical placements and occasionally teaching with the nurse practitioner program in Prince George.

Best part of your job?

I love being able to facilitate students’ learning in treating indigenous and marginalized populations as the clinical site is unique in what we can offer to our patients. My patients are truly the highlight of why I come to work every day. I cannot picture myself working outside of Indigenous health.

Who inspires you and why?

I am inspired by my amazing team at CINHS and previous mentors. I have never seen such a compassionate group of health care workers who care about their patients above and beyond. My patients also make my job very satisfying as they are always appreciative and have a great sense of humour.

Tell us about a project or endeavour that you’ve participated in that makes you proud:

I am currently starting a local sports and recreation program called Shas Grizzlies Youth Sports and Recreation Program. We are offering a wide array of sports and activities to low-income youth in Prince George for free. Activities include almost every sport imaginable even including unique opportunities such as kayaking, canoeing, archery, traditional dancing, ice hockey, skiing and much more.

Best advice for students:

Seeing as we serve many marginalized populations who often experience discrimination, treat every single patient you meet as an equal and as a human. Moving forward, be a part of the solution and give every individual that comes through your door respect and treat them as a friend.

How do you like to recharge?

My favourite way to recharge is to mountain bike, ski, hike, watch or play hockey, and travel with my wife. Anything outdoors really.