The 2018 Health System Impact Fellows

Five post-doctoral fellows and one PhD fellow at the Faculty of Medicine have received 2018 Health System Impact Fellows, which supports the development of British Columbia’s health policy talent while addressing policy issues in our province.

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) awards, of which three are co-funded by the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR), provide fellows with paid learning opportunities within health system organizations where they will contribute their research and analytic talents to specific health policy challenges.

The 2018 post-doctoral recipients and their project titles are:

Sofia Bartlett, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, “Utilizing a Syndemic Approach For Population Level Prevention, Care And Treatment Cascades Of Hepatitis C Virus And Related Epidemics”

Clayon Hamilton, Department of Physical Therapy, “Patient/Public Engagement Measurement and Evaluation Project (PEMEP) within the British Columbia Ministry of Health’s Patients as Partners Initiative”

Asif Khowaja, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, “Economic Evaluation And Cost Valuation Of A Province-Wide Quality Improvement Initiative: A Case Study Of ‘Call For Less Antipsychotics In Residential Care’ (CLeAR) In British Columbia”

Margo E. Pearce, School of Population and Public Health, “Understanding The Influence Of Early Childhood Sexual Trauma And Resiliency On Health Outcomes Among Young Aboriginal People Who Use Drugs In British Columbia”

Laura Schummers, Department of Family Practice, “Mifepristone Outcomes Study: Examining Abortion Access, Outcomes, And Costs Following the Introduction Of Mifepristone”

The 2018 PhD recipient and their project title:

Sameer Desai, School of Population and Public Health, “Geographical variation and temporal trends in mortality, morbidity and health care service use for cystic fibrosis patients in British Columbia”