Deborah Money receives lifetime achievement award for her contribution to improving women’s health

Dr. Deborah Money, MD, FRCSC, is the recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Infectious Diseases Society of Obstetrics and Gynecology (IDSOG), a 46 year old US based scientific organization. The award recognizes Dr. Money for her outstanding contributions to scientific exchange, education and leadership in infectious diseases in women.

Dr. Deborah Money, Executive Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Deborah Money, Executive Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

In collaboration with colleagues at UBC, Dr. Money developed an education and translational research program in Reproductive Infectious Diseases with research focused on three major areas: HIV in pregnancy, Human papilloma virus (HPV), and the prevention of cervical cancer. Dr. Money is currently leading a personalized medicine research program (CIHR/Genome BC) to understand the role of the vaginal microbiome in health and disease.

“Although great strides have been made, we must continue to advocate for more attention and resources to be directed to improving women’s health,” says Dr. Money, who has published more than 190 peer-reviewed publications and received approximately $24M in peer-reviewed research awards to date.

In addition to her significant contributions to research, Dr. Money is passionate about mentoring the next generation. Together with her colleagues at UBC, she established the first and only Fellowship in Reproductive Infectious Diseases in Canada. The program has graduated six fellows to date, who have all joined academic centres across Canada, including UBC. This award was in part a recognition of her development of this discipline in Canada.

Dr. Money is currently the Executive Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at UBC and is a Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medicine, and the School of Population and Public Health.

Part of Dr. Money’s accomplishments include being the first, and only, non-US president (2010-2012) of IDSOG. In 2013 she was awarded the Society of Obstetrics and Gynecology (SOGC) Western Regional Award for Achievement, the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. She was also awarded the Women’s Health Research Institute Career Award for Excellence in Research in 2017.