New Canada Research Chairs appointed in the Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine welcomes three new Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) appointments and one renewal – part of a total  $11.6 million for 16 new and renewed federally funded CRCs at UBC.

Newly Appointed and Renewed CRCs include:

Michael Kobor, Canada Research Chair in Social Epigenetics, Department of Medical Genetics.
Kobor’s lab focuses on epigenetics, the relationship between our genes and our environment. His team is working on collaborative research into factors leading to fetal alcohol syndrome, asthma and COPD, as well as the effects of socio-economic status on gene expression.


Jonathon Leipsic, Canada Research Chair in Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging, Department of Radiology.
Leipsic is a radiologist researching cardiovascular imaging such as CT scans and MRIs, and has been internationally recognized for changing the pattern of imaging practice.

Kate Shannon, Canada Research Chair in Global Sexual Health and HIV/AIDS, Department of Medicine.
Shannon leads research on the social determinants of sexual health and HIV/AIDS, and access to care among marginalized populations, particularly youth, sex workers, and women at-risk and living with HIV.

Stefan Taubert, Canada Research Chair in Transcriptional Regulatory Networks, Department of Medical Genetics.
Taubert researches worm genetics and molecular biology to better understand human DNA transcription, while offering insight into metabolic conditions such as obesity and diabetes, as well as drug efficiency.

With at total of 13 new appointments, and three renewals, UBC now has 186 Canada Research Chairs, the second-highest number in the country.  Nationally there are 137 new and renewed chairholders in 37 postsecondary institutions, receiving $118,000,000 of new funding.

For a full list of the research chairs and their funding amounts, click here.