Faculty members win UBC’s 2016 Faculty Research Awards

Four members of the Faculty of Medicine, from seven different departments, are being recognized by UBC’s Faculty Research Awards. Winners of these awards were selected by UBC’s Faculty Research Award Committee, which spans arts and humanities, business, education, applied science, science and medicine.

The four faculty members recognized are:

Jacob Biely Research Prize

Natalie Strynadka
Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Dr. Natalie Strynadka is a pioneer in the study of proteins and protein assemblies essential to bacterial pathogenicity and antibiotic resistance. Her agenda-setting dissection of the membrane assemblies involved in infection, virulence and bacterial cell wall synthesis is having major impact in the development of therapeutic agents; both antibiotics and vaccines.

UBC Killam Research Fellowships | Junior Category

Michael Hunt
Associate Professor, Department of Physical Therapy
Dr. Hunt’s research interests focus on identifying changes in movement patterns and biomechanics as a result of injury or disease. The Motion Analysis and Biofeedback Laboratory uses state-of-the-art real-time motion analysis techniques to analyze movement pattern differences between injured and healthy individuals.

Filip Van Petegem
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Dr. Filip Van Petegem was trained as a structural biologist, solving crystal structures of extremophilic enzymes in the lab of Jozef Van Beeumen. This work allowed him to peer into the adaptation mechanisms of enzymes to extreme cold and hot temperatures.

UBC Killam Research Prizes | Applied Science, Sciences Senior Category

Megan Levings
Professor, Department of Surgery
Dr. Megan Levings’ leading a research lab that studies how one kind of white blood cell (called a regulatory T cells, or Tregs) controls immune responses.

Each spring, the Office of the Vice President Research hosts an awards reception to recognize outstanding UBC researchers. This year the reception will be held on April 5, 2017.