16 members of the Faculty receive 2017 YWCA Women of Distinction Nominations

Members of the Faculty of Medicine community were recently nominated for the 2017 YWCA Women of Distinction Awards. In its 34th year and recognized nationally, the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards honours individuals whose outstanding activities and achievements contribute to the well-being and future of our community. Nominees are recognized by category.

Health & Wellness:

  • Mary Bennett, Clinical Professor, Department of Pediatrics
  • Pippa Hawley, Division Head of Palliative Care, Department of Medicine
  • Marla Kiess, Clinical Professor, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine
  • Christine Loock, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
  • Dina Panagiotopoulos, Clinical Professor, Division of Endocrinology, Department of Medicine
  • Hazel Park, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Cynthia Verchere, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Surgery
  • Elena Vikis, Clinical Instructor, Department of Surgery

Research & the Sciences:

  • July Illes, Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Neurology
  • Lara Boyd, Professor, Department of Physical Therapy
  • Kanna Hayashi, Postdoctoral research fellow
  • Danuta Skowronski, Clinical Professor, SPPH
  • Clara van Karnebeek, Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Business & The Professions:

  • Katie White, Executive Director, Communications

Young Woman of Distinction:

  • Minnie Teng, Occupational Therapy student
  • Lindsay Richter, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology graduate student