BCCFP awards recognize Department of Family Practice members and residents

Each year, the BC College of Family Physicians (BCCFP) recognizes some of our province’s exceptional family physicians and residents with peer-nominated awards, as well as the patient-nominated My Family Doctor Award.

The 2017 recipient of the My Family Doctor Award is Prince George family physician and Northern Medical Program preceptor Dr. Cecilia Siegling. This award celebrates the important relationship that family physicians have with patients and families. Dr. Siegling completed her medical education in South Africa and has been practising in BC since 2007.

Simon Moore, the recipient of the BCCFP's First Five Years of Practice Award.

Simon Moore, the recipient of the BCCFP’s First Five Years of Practice Award.

This year, the BCCFP also introduced two new awards. The First Five Years of Practice Award, recognizing an exceptional family physician in the early stage of his or her career, will be presented to Dr. Simon Moore this fall. Dr. Moore is a graduate of UBC’s medical school and completed his family medicine residency at UBC 2012. He now serves as a UBC Clinical Assistant Professor, involved in teaching the next generation of medical students and resident physicians.

The Innovations in Primary Care Award, recognizing family physicians working on local innovations in practice or health care delivery that improve patient, family or community care, will be presented to the Home ViVE (Home Visits to Vancouver’s Elders) team, which includes 10 family physicians. Home ViVE provides home-based primary care to house-bound elders. The family physicians on the team are: Drs. Judith Hammond, Tina Lai, Kelly Little, Rod Ma, Margaret McGregor, Conrad Rusnak, Jay Slater, John Sloan, Stephanie Stace and Anthony Tran.

In addition, four UBC family medicine residents received awards. Drs. Dipinder Keer and Cassandra Felske-Durksen received Resident Leadership Awards. Recipients of the Dr. Manoo and Jean Gurjar Resident Scholarship Awards for this year were Drs. Jesse Thompson and Alicia Pawluk.